May 27 2023

RNLI pursuit race 2023

Published by at 10:07 under Club Notices,Racing

TBYC RNLI Pursuit Race 27th May 2023 SSI’s
Race Duration and Entry
Entry fee for the race is a £3 per boat voluntary contribution. – All proceeds will be donated to the RNLI. Please place the entry fee in the container located on the main bar on the race day.
The Race Duration has been calculated based on the slowest class, International Cadet, sailing for 2 hours. Start times for all other classes have been calculated based on the handicap numbers in use at Thorpe Bay Yacht Club as at May 2023.
Classes not allocated a start time should contact the race officer by midday Saturday 27th May latest to be allocated a start time. Add DM email
Competitors sailing boats without a start time allocated that do not contact the race officer before this time will not be eligible to race.

The Course
Committee boat start – The start numbers / times will be posted on the Bosuns hut blackboard and each start number displayed on the rear of the Committee boat. The Course will be on the bow of the committee boat.
Shore Box start – start numbers will be adjacent to the club shore box, clearly visible.
The Start
The start time for the first boat (RS Tera Sport) is 16.30 hours
Start times for all classes have been rounded to the nearest minute and are published on the Start Times sheet attached to these supplementary sailing instructions. When possible, the Race Officer will answer questions regarding position in the sequence from competitors on the water This information is entirely at the discretion of the race committee and will not be grounds for redress.
Thorpe Bay Yacht Club Flags will only be used in the initial 3 minute warning and preparatory period before the first start.
International Code Flag R shall be used as the warning signal for the first start.
Sound signals shall govern the starting sequence thereafter.
The first start number will be displayed at 3 mins before the start and will not be removed until the start. Subsequent start numbers will replace the preceding number as soon as possible after the preceding class start and will be displayed for the duration of the time until the subsequent class start, e.g. If the gap between 2 starts is one minute the class start number will be displayed for approximately one minute. If the gap between 2 starts is seven minutes the class start number will be displayed for approximately seven minutes.
A single sound signal will be made for each of the designated starts even if no boat starts in that class.
There will be no recalls and at the discretion of the Race Officer premature starters will be penalised by 5 places in the finishing order, with no recourse to appeal or redress. Competitors are required to keep clear of the line until after the start immediately prior to their class.
The race will finish exactly 1.75 hours after the first start time. A support boat flying a blue flag will motor to the point where the lead boat has reached at the pre-determined finish time and sound a signal indicating that the lead boat has finished.
The support boat will drop an inflatable mark and all competitors shall sail towards this mark.
A support boat will then motor back through the fleet recording the finishing position of each boat as far as possible through the fleet. This is likely to be restricted to the front of the fleet depending upon conditions and positions on the course and is likely to be the first 5 boats only. (Where possible competitors should note the sail numbers of the boat in front of them at the time of the finish signal and record this on the declaration sheet the Bosun’s Hut.).
After the finishing sound signal, boats shall not overtake a boat in front but shall continue sailing until the support boat has passed them, recording their position, or the race officer on the support boat has indicated that he/she has finished recording places, at which time they will be deemed to have finished.
Start Times for Classes are below.


Class PN START NUMBER finish
RS tera sport 1445 1 16:30:00 18:15:00
topper 4.2 1420 2 16:32:00
mirror 1387 3 16:35:00
rs tera pro 1364 4 16:36:00
laser pico race 1265 5 16:44:00
rs feva xl 1224 6 16:47:00
laser 4.7 1210 7 16:48:00
sandhopper 1197 8 16:49:00
rs nero 1180 9 16:50:00
laser radial 1150 10 16:52:00
solo 1142 11 16:53:00
rs aero 5 1136 12 16:53:00
rs aero 6 1105 13 16:55:00
laser 1101 14 16:55:00
420 1100 15 16:56:00
national 12 1064 16 16:58:00
rs aero7 1063 17 16:58:00
finn 1049 18 16:59:00
rs 200 1046 19 16:59:00
hadron h2 1038 20 17:00:00
albacore 1037 21 17:00:00
rs aero 9 1010 22 17:02:00
phantom 1002 23 17:03:00
merlin rocket 980 24 17:04:00
contender 969 25 17:05:00
hornet 959 26 17:06:00
fireball 952 27 17:06:00
rs 400 940 28 17:07:00
dart 15 926 29 17:08:00
29er 897 30 17:10:00
musto skiff 845 31 17:14:00
rs 600 845 32 17:14:00
shearwater 809 33 17:17:00
shadow x 758 34 17:20:00
hurricane sx 695 35 17:25:00
a class 684 36 17:26:00
f18 670 37 17:27:00
tornado 646 38 17:29:00
nacra 20 604 39 17:32:00
foiling moth 570 40 17:34:00


No responses yet

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.